Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

I spy a butterfly…. April 17, 2012

Filed under: Nature — katiepede @ 1:22 pm

Yup it’s true! As I went to make my lunch this afternoon I spotted a little butterfly on the Aubrieta that is all over the front wall in the garden. (I am not sure what exact type of Aubrieta it is, as it was here when we moved in).

 

I rushed outside to take a photo, but it wasn’t going to sit still. However, I was able to identify it as an orange tip butterfly. I also spotted that a fellow blogger has also seen some recently.

 

Whilst I was outside, I also decided to do what I was dreading, and pick off the strawberry flowers… But as suggested by a friend, I have only picked off the flowers from half the plants. A mini ‘Monty Don’ experiment it would seem, to discover whether I will actually get better strawberries from those plants next year, or not….Β  Watch this space πŸ™‚

 

I also couldn’t resist taking a couple of photos whilst I was outside, as it was so beautiful. Photos taken on my mobile, so are not the best quality. I shall find my camera and take better photos soon….

 

 

A photo looking up the garden, Aubrieta in the foreground.

 

 

Some Spring bulbs, which were planted up last year by my boyfriend’s parents and given to us as a Christmas present.

 

 

Winter flowering pansies…. what a bargain! These were planted from six small plants late last September as an attempt to make my view from the window slightly less grey when I was washing up. I have been dead-heading them all along, and they’ve got bigger and are still flowering! Lovely Jubbly! πŸ˜€

 

Back to work….. ho hum πŸ™‚

 

2 Responses to “I spy a butterfly….”

  1. You have a lovely English garden. I wish I could grow a similar one here in Texas πŸ™‚

    • katiepede Says:

      Awww shucks, thank you. However, a bit of your warmth wouldn’t go amiss right now…. It’s sunny, but cold! Too cold for my tomato plants, which grow bigger every day on the windowsill! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

