Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Happy Earth day! April 22, 2012

Filed under: Nature — katiepede @ 12:44 pm

A very happy Earth day to you all! As residents of this fine planet I hope you’re having a wonderful day. 😀

Image

So there are more little sweetcorn sprouts appearing, and everything else is getting bigger 🙂

Yesterday I removed yet more bindweed…. and tidied up a few bits. My other half fixed a very strong bracket for my new large hanging basket my Mum bought me for my tumbling tom tomatoes…. I keep hearing people say that there may be snow in May?! So I think I will wait a wee longer to plant things out.

Oh I also tried a spot of organic pest control yesterday. The garden is full of ladybirds :-), and I moved a few (very gently) onto some of my spearmint (Mentha spicata) which seems to have an infestation of aphids. I saw them munch away on a few… but fly away later. However, my friend consoled me saying that if they have laid any eggs then their larvae will be extremely good in controlling the aphid population.

 
Image

(Image from: bbsrc.ac.uk)

I may pop a few courgette seeds in later. I will plant these in a large bag thing on the deck… Last year I put them in the raised bed and it took over everything else. The courgettes were very tasty though!

Happy planting! 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Happy Earth day!”

  1. meghan11 Says:

    Encouraging to see someone doing something good for the earth. Love the photo. I have one of a mama scorpion carrying her babies on her back. Awesome, but scary.


Leave a Reply

