Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Two years have passed….. April 24, 2012

Filed under: Nature — katiepede @ 9:27 am

Two years today I lost one of my most favourite people, my Dad. Now, I don’t wish this to be a somber post, rather one to share with you just how much I loved him. Both my Mum and Dad have always shared their love of gardening with my sister and me, and I have no doubt that this has rubbed off. And it was Dad that inspired me with his vegetable growing. Radishes, sweet peas and runner beans were his fortΓ©, and I have so many memories of running about pulling up radishes and eating them (soil and all) straight from the garden.

 

(My sister and me with sunflower for the village competition. To the left our Wendy House made from scratch by Dad)

 

I also recall how every summer in the early warm evenings, my sister and I would follow him to the top of the garden with an apple from the tree. He would pull out his trusty pen knife, and cut it up. We would sit there, just eating the apple with our Dad.

 

 

I miss him terribly, but am so lucky to have had such a wonderful Dad. Thank you… x

 

16 Responses to “Two years have passed…..”

  1. FeyGirl Says:

    what a heartwarming tribute to a sweet soul β€” such wonderful pictures and touching words. XOXO from afar…

  2. Inge Says:

    I am sorry to hear about your dad. I’ve lost my dad long time ago more than 20 years but still miss him a lot! πŸ™‚
    My dad also liked gardening. I am not very good at gardening but I love the nature very much and that came from my dad. πŸ™‚

    Nice tribute to your dad. May his soul rest in peace, amen.

    • katiepede Says:

      Thank you, I hope I haven’t made you too sad, but made you smile. I really am just so very lucky, as I am aware that some people either don’t get on with their Dad’s or don’t even know them…. It just stings a bit today… so am drinking extra cups of tea πŸ™‚

  3. bishop9396 Says:

    Very nice post – I have so many fond memories of my father and the gardening legacy he left with me. From my earliest memories in the 1950’s he has grown tomatoes. Later on, when I was grown and on my own, I would swing by to visit and he would load me up with tomatoes, peaches and apricots from his yard. I miss him dearly but every step in my garden is with him in my heart. Thank you for sharing.

    • katiepede Says:

      Thank you for your comment. I think being able to grow things is very good for a person’s inner happiness. πŸ™‚ I want my sweet peas to flourish this year, so that I might be reminded of him even more πŸ™‚

  4. hillwards Says:

    Ah, that made me well up. Stupid tears so close to the surface still! Thank you for visiting my blog, and a lovely tribute to your Dad. Sara x

    • katiepede Says:

      They’re not stupid tears. It took a while, but eventually I came to being able to accept that my sadness was only there, because there was such love. And somehow that was, and still is, a great comfort xxx

  5. What a lovely tribute to your father, Katie!!

    And I do believe that your gardening is a bridge to where he is now πŸ™‚

  6. andy1076 Says:

    Beautiful words, I’m sorry for your loss. I’m sure he’s looking from heaven and giving you a hand with your garden πŸ™‚

  7. What a great share. Sounds like some fond memories.


Leave a Reply

