Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Dum de dum de dum…. April 26, 2012

Filed under: Nature — katiepede @ 11:34 am

Whilst the weather continues spoil my fun (how very dare it rain in Britain?! ;-)) it forces me to work on my assignments (a very good thing indeed). However, I thought might take a few minutes out and take you on a trip around the plants inside my house!

My camera stillΒ eludes me, (borrowers methinks), so I am using my boyfriend’s fancy-pants DXR thingyme jobber…. (all very technical you know).

 

I have been steadily growing my collection over the last few years….

 

My gerbera is flowering again. It was bought for me two years ago by a friend, and puts on a show every year πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Peace lily (Spathiphyllum) has a few browning leaves, which I must remove, but in general looks very healthy, and its leaves look lovely next to the gerbera.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the kitchen windowsill my tomatoes are growing bigger each day, here are two of the mighty tumbling toms!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the money plant (Crassula ovata) I was given as a cutting by a friend.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Umbrella plant (Schefflera arboricola) was only about 15cm when I bought it….. just look at it now! It’s grown a little wonky, but I still love him.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of the more peculiar plants I have is the parrot plant (Impatiens niamniamensis). It’s flowers look like little parrot beaks! Bought at a plant sale at the local botanical gardens, it was very small, but has since thrived and is now quite big. Both the parrot plant and umbrella tree will live outside for the summer when it warms up.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In growing news…. the sweet peas are looking happy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the sweetcorn will need re-potting very soon (hurrah)!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have more house plants to show you, but I think I may leave those for another rainy day!

Happy planting πŸ™‚

 

20 Responses to “Dum de dum de dum….”

  1. Inge Says:

    WOW! Excellent! I might try myself doing gardening. Yesterday I bought the bulb of Lilies Asiatic and Gladiol.

    That parrot plant is beautiful and unique!

    • katiepede Says:

      Oh lovely! I love bulbs, mostly because I generally forget where I have planted them, and I get a great surprise the next year.

      The parrot plant is very unique, originating from Africa, it produces masses of blooms all year round. If you ever spot one, get one, as it makes a lovely house plant, which seems to be relatively easy to care for πŸ™‚ I think I may try making cuttings from it for my friends πŸ˜€

  2. Earth Elixir Says:

    I love the parrot plant I have never seen one! great gardening skills!

  3. Nice! I like the sweet corn. I am giving it a try for the first time this year.

  4. Look at all those plants! Nice! I have a black thumb. I just can’t seem to grow plants.

  5. I love peace lilies. Actually any lilies. I can actually grow those πŸ˜‰

    The parrot plant is way cool, too!

  6. By the way, I added you to my blogroll πŸ™‚

  7. You have such fabulous house plants! That parrot plant is gorgeous. Over in the US we call that money plant you have a jade plant or tree. Our money trees are little (or big) bonsai trees with regular thin leaves that have had their trunks braided together, like this: http://www.easybloom.com/images/plants/m/money-tree.jpg

    • katiepede Says:

      Many thanks! I have heard them called the Penny plant as well πŸ™‚ Wow those are beautiful, I want one, I want one, pleeeeeease…. πŸ™‚

      • I’ve never heard them called penny plants before- it’s funny how names change depending on where you are. I got mine pretty cheap in Chinatown. I’m sure you can find them wherever you have a large Chinese population.

  8. niki Says:

    Well you have a beautiful collection! The parrot plant is really gorgeous πŸ™‚

  9. I love the parrot plant!


Leave a Reply

