Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Feeling tight? Recycle your tights! April 29, 2012

Filed under: Nature — katiepede @ 4:06 pm

Ahh ha, intrigued? Oui?

 

Not only do old tights (I think they’re called pantyhose in the US), make excellent grass heads, (you know you want to make one right now)…. but they are also brilliant as ties for plants! A friend a few years ago gave me this top tip, and I have used it ever since.

 

 

(Image from recyclethis.co.uk)

 

 

You only need very small bits from the tights, but they are softer than string and do not dig into your delicate plants. I have just tied up my mange tout, (they were going a bit crazy), but have in the past used them for tomatoes etc.

 

You do you your bit to save the planet, you don’t need to spend any more money, and your lovely plants remain happy! Everyone’s a winner (baby, that’s the truth)!

 

In other most excellent news (can you tell I watched Wayne’s world last night?!), the borrowers have returned my camera! Yay! So once the ‘Great UK rain of 2012’ subsides I shall be able to take photos of all the things trying to grow in the garden. The poppy seeds I scattered are starting to flower, and the beautiful peony (Paeonia) is as well. Also, in the warm room my courgettes are juuuust thinking about sprouting….

 

Awesome 🙂

 

10 Responses to “Feeling tight? Recycle your tights!”

  1. Amy Says:

    um, yes! I will be using this tip on my vining ivy…

    • katiepede Says:

      Yay! I must admit I got a few strange looks from my other half when I first did it, (In the kitchen chopping up tights into little ties), but it worked so well 🙂

  2. Leighroy Jenkins Says:

    Yay! Good news on finding your camera! Wayne’s World was wicked last night – Party Time! L xxx

  3. First off, yes to the Waynes World reference. And this was a nice post. My wife will find me a little strange after I ask to borrow some old pantyhose.

  4. I have been using this tip for years! And yes, the delicate nature of the tights is awesome for plants!

  5. Great tip! My Father used my Mother’s tights inside a rainbarrel when making one type of compost or vegetable fertiliser. Looking forward to seeing the peonies, courgettes and poppies.


Leave a Reply

