Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Give the gift of a seedling… May 7, 2012

Filed under: Nature — katiepede @ 5:37 pm

To me there is nothing quite as satisfying as giving somebody a seedling, or plant that you have grown. It feels me with immense pleasure that I have firstly been able to grow it, and secondly that it might bring that person joy.

 

So far this year I have gifted several tomato plants, some chitted potatoes, and I shall be soon giving friends courgettes and spare sweetcorn. I have also been able to divide my prayer plant (Calathea amabilis) into several new plants which have since gone to friends. These make excellent house plants, require little water and attention. They boast lush foliage which is a pretty asset to any room.

 

 

My recent absence in the blogging world stems from my return to placement this past week. I thought I would have more time this weekend, but Saturday morning gave rise to an impromptu visit to Edinburgh! We were only there for 20 hours delivering a friend’s car to them, and it was my first ever visit. I must say from the little I saw, what a beautiful city it is, and I really hope to go again soon.

 

I share with you a few photos πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am not sure what the flower is in the last photo, but it was lovely in the dappled light…. Does anybody have any suggestions?

 

Happy Planting πŸ™‚

 

9 Responses to “Give the gift of a seedling…”

  1. FeyGirl Says:

    beautiful! i was fortunate to have been there during festival-time one year (purely by accident)… sadly, my traveling companions were having none of it.

  2. What a pretty city Edinburgh is! And yes, I love that plant. I can’t seem to kill it πŸ˜‰

  3. hillwards Says:

    I love giving home-grown plants to friends and family too.
    That looks very much like honesty (lunaria annua) from here… We’re growing it here for the first time, it looks wonderful glowing in the sun and I love the seedheads that will come.

    • katiepede Says:

      Ah haaa… Might get myself some, as it was lovely…. and would look great in my garden πŸ™‚

      And when I got home yesterday my friend had given me a plant, and left it outside my house! What a treat! πŸ™‚

  4. mixmakegrow Says:

    Beautiful pictures! And a great idea to give someone a homegrown seedling…now I’m thinking of all kinds of possibilities πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

