Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

I can see clearly now the rain has gone…. May 12, 2012

Filed under: Gardening,Nature — katiepede @ 3:35 pm

What a week…. it has been very busy, and it was my birthday on Wednesday… I was kindly given not one, but two cakes! Yummy! So I am now a grand age of….

 

 

It has been a dry today, and I have a feeling (and because the man on the radio said so), that this brief period of sun will once again be met with showers, so have made the most of the mini dry spell today 🙂

 

Mostly it has been filled with pottering…. not sure it constitutes proper gardening, but rather pootling about in the garden moving pots about, and generally inspecting plants…. you know in case they’ve grown etc. 🙂

 

My boyfriend brought a poor Ficus Benjamina home from his office which was completely pickled by mealy bug. It is pretty bare on one side, and is really suffering. I have moved it to the very top of the garden as far away from other plants as I could (to prevent contamination). I have misted it with a bug spray (I try usually to remove such bugs by hand, but this was an extreme case), and have given it a feed with some organic mix. I hope that it perks up over the weekend, but I think it might take some time.

 

Anyway, I was able to take a few snaps of the things growing in the garden…..

I earthed up my potatoes…

 

 

I grew Maris Piper potatoes last year in this bag, and they worked brilliantly…. it would seem that this year (touch wood), should be the same 🙂

 

 

My lupin is growing large and has several flowers growing, so as long as the slugs don’t get them there should be a good show soon!

 

 

 

The seeds of woodland poppy (stylophorum diphyllum) that I scattered last year have started flowering. I think they look beautiful next to all the bluebells (Hyacinthoides hispanica) and forget-me-not (Myosotis).

 

 

 

My lovely friend Kati gave me these beautiful copper leaves and dragonfly, which I have placed in the garden next to some ferns and more forget-me-not.

 

 

 

Now I know that dandelions can be a bit of a pain for gardeners (Taraxacum officinale), as the spread everywhere, but I do think they are beautiful in their own right. Pretty yellow lions, beautiful seed heads….. And you can make very tasty dandelion wine from the flowers…. I remember picking them for my Mum and Dad as a child… the things your parents make you do eh?…. 😉

 

 

Happy Saturday, happy planting 🙂

 

12 Responses to “I can see clearly now the rain has gone….”

  1. niki Says:

    That cake looks great!! and I like those leaves in your garden.

    • katiepede Says:

      Thank you, my friend left that cake on my locker at work! Such a lovely surprise, and my boyfriend made me a chocolate cake…. I am full of cake…. 😀

  2. FeyGirl Says:

    So beautiful, like a faeryland! LOVES! And happy belated birthday to you! You’re making me want cake, and my birthday’s nowhere near. 🙂

  3. Inge Says:

    What a beautiful garden! Happy Birthday to you. Many happy returns and may God bless you always. 🙂

    I wish to have a garden like yours. Keep it up! 🙂

  4. There is nothing cake won’t cure 🙂

    Hope you had a wonderful birthday! Maybe you can come to the US for your 29th 😉

  5. hillwards Says:

    I love those woodland poppies. Happy belated birthday.
    Sara

  6. Karen Says:

    You have a lovely garden. Ficus are such a strong plant…it should come back fine.

  7. daraweyna Says:

    Happy belated birthday…and your garden is looking absolutely lovely!! I’m envious. Two cakes would be just fine with me, too!


Leave a Reply

