Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Happiness is gardening…. May 28, 2012

Filed under: Gardening,Nature — katiepede @ 7:51 pm

Please forgive my recent lack of blogging….. however, wonderful things have been happening in the garden 🙂

 

My Lupins are huge, which is quite an achievement, as I find they often get munched on, and I only get one or two stems. In the background you can see my string of solar lights, which when sat in the garden of an evening look really pretty.

 

 

My mange tout are producing little snacks, which I have started picking to nibble on or add to our dinners….

 

 

The spuds are earthed up to their ears, and the courgettes are now outside loving their new pot and fresh air.

 

As the bluebells start to fade new pretties take their place. The sweet williams that I planted last year are looking strong and set to flower soon.

 

 

And the peony makes me smile every time I see it….

 

 

The winter pansies which have been so happy are now starting to look rather weedy, and I think I will have to find something else to put in my window box.

 

My sweetcorn grows steadily in the planter outside, and today I have put some runner beans on wet kitchen towel to get them germinating.

 

I do unfortunately have a couple of garden issues, which I am going to see if anybody has answers to…. Firstly my new climber is getting nibbled….but by what?! I cannot see any snails/slugs, and there don’t seem to be any eggs or larvae…..

 

And more sadly my honeysuckles look awful. I thought at first that it needed a good feed, and did so. However the leaves are yellowing, and the branches look light they have a fungus/mould on them? Does anybody know what is going on, or how to make them better? Advice on either issue would be much appreciated.

 

 

Happy planting! 🙂

 

8 Responses to “Happiness is gardening….”

  1. mixmakegrow Says:

    That peony is beautiful! Everything is looking great 🙂

  2. Inge Says:

    Unfortunately I couldn’t help to solve your problem since I am lack of knowledge in gardening. But I am glad that some of your plants turn out well. 🙂

  3. Sue Says:

    You can buy anti-fungal sprays. It might be worth spraying the honeysuckle.
    Or cut it right back and let it regrow. They are very strong plants and it should regrow.

  4. Oh, I do love the peony. That’s just gorgeous!

    Check for Japanese beetles eating your hydrangea. They can be very sneaky, and have no particular want of a plant. They are non-discriminatory eaters.

    That does look like a fungal problem on the honeysuckle, and you may also wish to check for aphids due to the color change. Best of luck!

  5. Earth Elixir Says:

    I love lupines! They remind me of Newfoundland


Leave a Reply

