Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Cheeky bees…. June 19, 2012

Filed under: Gardening,Nature — katiepede @ 11:21 am

I do like bees, bees, bees, bees! I love to watch them, and I love what good they do. More recently I have been inspired by blogs such as this lovely one by Deborah Delong all about urban bee keeping, and am trying to learn more about all types of bees.

 

After a glass of wine with a friend, talk of bees started (is this quite normal?) :-), and this particular friend (who is a keen horticulturist) asked whether I was aware that bees don’t actually access the nectar in fuchsias by going into the centre, rather they bite in from the side and go straight to the source! I was fascinated by this information and have been following them around the fuchsia bushes trying to see this behaviour, and to get a photo……

 

I was very happy that after quite a lot of hunting, I managed to get this photo!

 

 

 

It’s amazing what you can see when you actually look closely…… There are signs of this activity all over my fuchsias 🙂

 

Happy planting 🙂

 

13 Responses to “Cheeky bees….”

  1. engraversue Says:

    I am going to have to go out now and look at mine! No sign of my leafcutter bees hatching yet. xxx

  2. Inge Says:

    Isn’t it nice to watch their behavior? 😀

    Every time I take pictures of the wild flower or insects in a pubic space/area then people just looked at me like I was a useless. Am I?
    It’s funny to see lots people are so into the false world rather than nature. 🙂

    Here’s mine:

    http://godslover.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/candid-photography-when-a-bee-have-sunbathing/

  3. Oh, what a beautiful photo!! I do love me some bees. They make me very happy 🙂

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Bees are the best. They seem to end up in most of my garden photos, because they are always in and among the flowers. Beautiful fuschias.

    • katiepede Says:

      Thank you! The fuschias were here when we moved in, I have tried to tame them to keep them in good order…. but whilst they might be larger than normal….the bees don’t seem to mind 🙂 xx

  5. daraweyna Says:

    Lovely flowers and amazing pics of the bee!

  6. Wow that’s actually really interesting to know! Cheers! PS–beautiful flowers…your thumb is much more green than mine!

    • katiepede Says:

      I know! When I discovered this I was amazed and couldn’t stop looking out for them doing so. Thank you also for your compliment, it is much appreciated, but I have still so much to learn 🙂 x

  7. methowmama Says:

    Lovely blog. Your writing is very engaging, thank you!


Leave a Reply

