Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

50p plants…. June 28, 2012

Filed under: Gardening,Nature — katiepede @ 9:36 pm

Ahh yes,Β  I love a good bargain! Added with my love of plants means I want to buy ALL sale plants…. and take them home and make them better…..

 

However, I have learnt from experience that buyer beware…. sometimes despite how much I want to take them home, not all of them can be saved…. The 50p redcurrant bush has been brilliant, and I harvested a few berries today. I also bought two chilli plants for 50p each whilst with my Mum last week and these are growing stronger and happier every day. Yet the cheap marigolds I bought a few weeks ago perished almost as soon as I got them home….. I wasn’t sure they would make it, but I couldn’t resist.

 

I think the morale of the story is a plant’s origin will often help with its future. I have found that plants bought from garden centres are generally much healthier than those from supermarkets and DIY stores. However, sometimes it is worth a punt…..

 

It’s only 50p! πŸ™‚

 

http://www.coins-of-the-uk.co.uk

 

Updates of the garden…. and a crafty interlude soon πŸ™‚

 

Happy planting πŸ™‚

 

6 Responses to “50p plants….”

  1. Inge Says:

    Two weeks ago I saw one big supermarket sold plants for 50p and 20p. I wanted to buy it but they looked dying. I thought that won’t be good to me so I didn’t buy it. πŸ˜€

    • katiepede Says:

      But isn’t it tempting?! You want to try and revive them….. resisting is hard!

      • Inge Says:

        It is indeed! I might buy some later. πŸ˜€

        How about the ones in the packet? Like in pound shop. Do you think it is OK to plant it although they said that it’s supposed to be planted on May for instance? I mean is there any chance I see them blossom or I have to wait until next year?

        Thanks in advance for your replying. πŸ™‚

        • katiepede Says:

          Do you mean the bulbs? I sometimes plant them when they are a bit cheaper, and not quite at the right time, and they might not all come up the next year, but then you forget, and suddenly the year after you have even more plants πŸ˜€ (It’s a risk though, as you could end up wasting money) x

  2. Sue Says:

    I bought some cheap boxes with bulbs in a few weeks ago but they either didn’t grow or turned out to be more boring versions of the plants than the packet suggested. The very fancy frilly almost black aquilegia I was expecting was simply a purple plain one. Pretty but not as advertised. xxx


Leave a Reply

