Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Finding the time, is like finding your socks… August 3, 2012

Filed under: Gardening,Nature — katiepede @ 3:15 pm

I lose my socks a lot! In fact I lose many things. Generally when I panic I have lost something, I haven’t looked hard enough, and they are often right in front of me (or… ahem…in my bag). This is after I have run around like a crazy woman… saying “My keys, they’re gooone fooorever!” (I am nothing, if not dramatic when I ‘lose’ something) :-)….

 

I (possibly in a tenuous fashion), find this similar to time. Too often am I worrying about not having enough, I panic about it… without appreciating where I am, and what I have right now. The last couple of months have made me ever more aware of my own timings, and at first I kept worrying about not having enough of it…. Yet I have come to realise that my future is not as transparent nor on the predictable path that I thought it was only a few months ago. Things might be set to try us… but I need to remain positive, and take my recent news in my stride.

Also, just today I finished and handed in ALL of my remaining course work (added wooo needed here….Wooooo!), so things must be coming together, as soon I will be a bona fide Radiotherapist!

 

I really need to worry less, and just maybe when it comes to my garden, find the beauty in a few weeds…..Β  So what if the bindweed is trying to its come back in a few places,…. it’s certainly not as bad as last year…. And a hefty tug will be sufficient for now.

 

As my chilli peppers grow bigger, my tomatoes start to get some colour, the corn grows higher, and the runner beans out grow their canes, I have an immense sense of pride, that, yes,…. I grew these!….. And I cannot wait until they are all ready to eat (probably on a daily basis with the beans, as I fear I have grown far too many for two people… ah well Bob/friends/neighbours better like beans)! πŸ˜‰

 

Runner beans and Sweet corn loveliness

 

 

Look, double cobs!

 

I have been pleased with the tomato hanging basket, and I apologise that it has taken so long for a photograph to be taken of it…. My kindly landlord re-attached the bracket to the wall, as it had become too heavy for it and had broken.

 

‘Tumbling Tom’ tomatoes and trailing lobelia hanging basket

 

 

Ripening Tomatoes

 

 

Chilli peppers

 

As we creep through the year, and I become aware that things will be harvested soon my thoughts go to what to grow now, and what to grow next year. I know we will be in the same house…. so I definitely have another growing season here. I think soon I may try some pak choi, early broad beans, and plant some late spuds…. I hear you can plant spuds in late August for Christmas….. Christmas Roasties with home grown spuds… what a feast!

 

Re-potted bamboo, lobelia, asiatic lilies, climbing hydrangea (and tomatoes in the top right corner)

 

Anyhoo, I hope everybody has been enjoying the Olympics, and have also found some time to enjoy their gardens, parks and open spaces….

 

Happy Planting πŸ™‚

 

24 Responses to “Finding the time, is like finding your socks…”

  1. FeyGirl Says:

    Congratulations to you! (And I love your description of a lost, dramatic self… Sounds vaguely familiar, hee.) LOVELY garden, as ever!!

  2. engraversue Says:

    You left some of your socks here LOL
    Your plants look great. Well done.
    I am very proud of you for finishing your training!
    xxx

  3. seapunk2 Says:

    The missing socks are in the Hozone. I don’t have a Hozone anymore, as I hang most of my socks on a clothesline and they seem to hang together nicely.
    I hear you – about time. I have or can make time for most anything, but my time in life is speeding away, and I’m not too happy about it.
    I LOVE the hanging tomato. I can’t grow them here – too cool. Same with corn. Like your garden very much. Thanks for sharing.

    • katiepede Says:

      Ahhh the Hozone… the place of sock parties!

      It is scary how fast time seems to slip away…. I feel I need to make a list, but I wonder whether this would worry me further πŸ™‚

      You could grow toms inside? xx

  4. Congrats! I know just what you mean when it comes to loosing things & time. And your garden is looking great.

  5. Anam Haq Says:

    Very nice!

  6. Karen Says:

    I’m constantly thinking that I have lost something when in fact it is only misplace. But until I find it, I always panic. Your garden looks terrific.

  7. I must admit to smiling at your post, but completely laughing out loud at the fact that you lost your watering can. That’s hilarious!

    Lovely garden indeed, and I take plenty of time to peruse your pics, since I am too much of a black thumb πŸ˜‰

  8. hillwards Says:

    Congratulations on completing your coursework. I think time – and socks – run thinner from here on in though! :S
    With fields on two sides, our garden will never be pristine or free of weeds, we just battle them back to the boundaries where we can, and accept the rest! Though don’t get me started on bindweed…
    Your crops are looking great, you should certainly be proud. Lovely to be plotting for next season too.

    • katiepede Says:

      Thank you so much, I am trying to make my peace with weeds πŸ™‚ and with myself…. I have just found out I have MS, hence the time analogy…. But fewer worries and more planting should see me happy for a good while yet x

      • hillwards Says:

        Oh no, what a devastating diagnosis. 😦 Still, there are so many factors involved and possibilities, and medical science is hopefully hot on its heels… A hard thing to come to terms with, though, but it sounds like you have a good support network, and lots of things to look forward to. x

        • katiepede Says:

          Thank you, it’s just weird…. I cannot describe it any other way. Medical advances are so good, and I am very hopeful, things would be worse even if this were 20 yrs ago. However, it certainly puts the important things into perspective…. Am going to become the ultimate hippy and try yoga as well πŸ˜‰ (I’ve read many times that it is good for such things). Yoga and gardening……………….. πŸ˜€ A cure for all ails x

  9. Karen Says:

    I’m always losing things or walking into a room and totally forgetting why, I panic about time occasionally, sometimes it seems there’s never enough, or perhaps it’s just me because I’ve got my fingers in too many pies lately. I don’t know, but it always seems to come right. Your crops are looking really healthy, I left beans far too late this year, I think, oh well, time will tell! Oh, you can plant garlic from October/November too πŸ˜‰

    • katiepede Says:

      I’m glad it’s not just me! πŸ˜€ Thank you, I hope that I can eat a home grown corn on the cob this year.

      Ahh garlic…. oh I had not thought about that…. Do you know how well do they over-winter if it snows? xx

  10. Earth Elixir Says:

    I know what you mean πŸ˜€ n everything in nature finds time to get everything done. Beautiful garden!


Leave a Reply

