Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

It’s been a while…. September 28, 2012

Filed under: Gardening,Nature,Scotland — katiepede @ 2:20 pm

For a few weeks now my beloved has been pestering encouraging me to update my blog. Yet, as time has passed it has been a little tricky getting back into it! I wonder whether it is simply because I wasn’t sure where to start. Anyhoo I have decided to do a quick update about the garden and then add some snaps from our holiday in Scotland…. As I took several hundred I am in no doubt that some more will inevitably sneek in somewhere! I hope that after this post it will be easier to get back into my blog.

 

Garden Delights:

 

* Sweetcorn: This is the first year I have grown full size corn, and I have had some real beauties. Both Bob and I have been eating corn on the cob, and I am in no doubt that they are the sweetest I have ever tasted.

 

* Runner beans: With only a few plants I have been adding them to almost every evening meal. As some of them are getting a little woody I have found a recipe for runner bean chutney, and am considering giving it a try.

 

* Tomatoes: I have had mixed success with these. On one hand with the use of ‘tumbling toms’ I have had a great many more ripen than I have in previous years. However, being in a hanging basket requires extra attention…. and being super vigilant with regards to watering! I have many green toms, which I doubt will ripen…. more chutney?!

 

* Courgettes: Have had a fair few, but not as many as the green variety…. will plant a few types next season.

 

* Potatoes: Slug damage… šŸ˜¦ Have now replanted with a ‘Duke of York’ variety hopefully in time for Christmas. (I love Christmas)

 

* Strawberries: Some berries, and more ripening now, but I hope the plants will yield more fruit next year.

 

* Chili Peppers: From my 50p plants I have a great many. These have been moved inside, and are now ripening… yummytastic šŸ™‚

 

A wee dram of Scotland to whet your appetite:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy planting šŸ™‚

 

25 Responses to “It’s been a while….”

  1. Libby Says:

    Excellent pics šŸ™‚ the sunset and the first one are really good. Bet you had a lovely time!

  2. Inge Says:

    Nice pictures, Katie.

    I’m envy with your garden delights in a good way. šŸ˜€
    And thanks for sharing your pictures of Scotland. I am longing for visiting it but still haven’t got a chance.

    Glad to see you back! šŸ™‚

  3. expatcat54 Says:

    Making me homesick!

  4. FeyGirl Says:

    Just BEAUTIFUL!!! šŸ™‚

  5. Karen Says:

    Welcome back! Scotland must have been lovely. Love the last photo.

  6. asoulwalker Says:

    Love the photos… suddenly I want to buy a castle.

  7. Without a doubt, that looks like the perfect trip to Scotland. I love Loch Fyne restaurant, unfortunately only been to the one in Nottingham. Seafood, whiskey, castles and stunning landscapes perfect! Of course the veggies sound pretty good too šŸ˜‰

  8. hillwards Says:

    Lovely shots of Scotland, looks like a great holiday. Congratulations on the sweetcorn, ours was a dismal failure this year (we only managed a few handfuls of kernels from a cob or two).

  9. So I told Hubby you went to Oban Distillery.

    I have never seen anyone turn green with envy before šŸ˜€

    As to the green tomatoes, ever hear of fried green tomatoes, as in the food, not the film? Try it šŸ˜‰

    • katiepede Says:

      Ooooh that we did….. and we bought some Oban whisky, and we bought some Talisker whisky from Syke…. I am definitely developing a taste for it now šŸ˜€ I haven’t ever tried fried green tomatoes… aaaand I have never watched the film either… (However, Bob is next to me informing me that it is really good)!

  10. Elin Says:

    Nice photos! Love the photo of the Oyster Bar building. šŸ™‚

  11. joannmm5 Says:

    Lovely photography. I get a relaxed feeling as I thumb through your photos.


Leave a Reply

