Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Living the good life… October 24, 2012

Filed under: Gardening,Nature,Scotland — katiepede @ 8:38 pm

Whilst in West Scotland driving around the peninsula of ‘Applecross’ we came across this little shelving unit offering the obvious essentials of life……. eggs, hats, socks and jam! The drive was amazing, with spectacular views of Raasay, but this made me smile the most. Unfortunately, they were all out of eggs and jam (although how this can be baffles me slightly as there were very few people about….. my only conclusion is that it must have been very good jam)! We rummaged through the various socks and hats for sale, and I bought a lovely pair of hand stripy knitted socks,… which had a lovely smell of wood smoke and sheep, and I placed my money in the honesty box. Such a wonderful place, with a frank and genuine kindness about it.

I have been inspired this year to emulate a little of this good life, and have made my own jam and chutney from the local blackberries and my excess runner beans.

Β Happy planting πŸ™‚

 

14 Responses to “Living the good life…”

  1. hillwards Says:

    What a brilliant find! Pretty jam and chutney too. x

  2. FeyGirl Says:

    HOW PERFECT!!!! I would have bought them all. πŸ™‚

  3. Karen Says:

    That little cupboard with the sign made me smile too.

  4. I love running across “honesty boxes”! Last year while gallivanting with the kidlets through West Texas, we ran into a crossroads where three people had stands. One sold eggs (all gone…boo!!), another had peaches and citrus (we got a peck of each), and the third had honey (a quart was obtained). We paid the “suggested” amounts, plus tips, and enjoyed the fruit all the way home. I still have the jar, empty by now, and hope to return it in the future. Best part of recycling πŸ˜‰

  5. I hope you are doing well after the holidays, and that work isn’t too strenuous πŸ™‚

  6. mellissaanne Says:

    Omgosh the packaging on these jars is super cute, what a great idea. I noticed you are following my old blog, but I started a new one! Check it out: http://thecraftyfrugaler.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

