Katiepede's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a hoarder………… February 21, 2013

Filed under: hoarding,lifestyle — katiepede @ 6:02 pm

Ok, so I am not about to appear on a hoarding TV show any time soon, I have enough space to cook, sit, sleep etc…. But, I am acutely aware that I have hoarding tendencies. I find parting with things very emotive, and I can find some sentimental connection with almost anything. With my MS diagnosis last year I have struggled to relinquish control of things, and I know the tendency to hoard has become a little worse. So I have made a very conscious decision to try and reduce my clutter….. I figure that a less cluttered house = a less cluttered mind….. πŸ™‚

 

Anyhooo today I finally gave the six bags of stuff that I have collected over the last few weeks to charity! HUZZAH! It wasn’t easy, and over the weeks of collecting, several of the things that went into the bags were subsequently removed, added again, and then removed. (And errm two things from the bags made it back into the car boot in the last few seconds) Oooops! However, I still managed to get rid of a lot, and I feel so much better now. I must keep going on my de-cluttering journey…..

(More room for house plants)?…………………. πŸ˜‰

 

Does anybody else find it hard to part with ‘stuff’?……

 

 

Happy Planting πŸ™‚

 

 

7 Responses to “Confessions of a hoarder…………”

  1. It’s like you live in my head! I hate parting with anything. I know tastes change, and with it so does decor and fashion, but ZOMG!!! I still own my Winnie the Pooh PJs.

    From when I was three.

    I have been purging lately, though. Our house just can’t contain any more stuff πŸ™‚

    • katiepede Says:

      Indoodily deedily! I tried getting rid of some PJs…. these have so far been in three separate attempts, but they still remain upstairs….

      Oh and errr just bought a new book…. (but it’s really lovely, and in my defence I think you’d love it, it’s all about making things out of broken books and old maps…..) x

  2. God yes, I’m a terrible hoarder! I keep so much stuff because it ‘might come in useful’, but then I’m so disorganised that when I need it, I can’t find it!

  3. Karen Says:

    I totally know how you feel. I have moved eleven times in my life and have had to give up lots of things…it is never easy. Even though I have gotten rid of somethings, I can definitely say that I’m a hoarder but in a good way if you know what I mean. πŸ™‚

    • katiepede Says:

      I have moved a few times at uni, but I used to be terrible and just move bags of stuff from one house to another, without even looking inside….. I am better now though, and I do like stuff…. I just have too much. I started another bag for charity today. I just must try NOT to take things out again! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

